Lauren Baratz-Logsted and Marcia’s Madness

Lauren Baratz-Logsted and Marcia’s Madness


Today Lauren Baratz-Logsted (most recent Crazy Beautiful YA, The Education of Bet YA coming July 12, 2010) — along with her husband Greg Logsted (Alibi Junior High, Something Happened YA) and their daughter Jackie — add Book 5: Marcia’s Madness to the Sisters 8 Series for ages 9 – 12.

In other words this series is about a family, written by a family. Lauren told the backstory of the Sisters 8 when writing her April 6, 2010 guest post, Lauren Baratz-Logstead’s Love of Writing:

“The idea for the series about octuplets whose parents go missing one New Year’s Eve came to us in December 2006 when we were snowbound in Colorado. There was no TV where we were, and there weren’t any other children around, so what choice did we have for entertainment but to begin writing a series of books?”

And continued with:

“One thing we have strived to do with The Sisters 8, since all three of us our huge fans of Roald Dahl, we’ve tried to emulate him to the extent that we do the best to make the quirky humor work for readers of all ages in addition to the targeted audience of 6- to 10-year-olds. We hope we have succeeded.”

Please visit The Sisters 8 website to read:

The Story Begins

On New Year’s Eve, eight sisters – octuplets – wait for Mommy and Daddy to come back from the shed with more wood for the fire.

But they – Mommy and Daddy, that is – don’t. Come back. Ever.

It takes the sisters a few minutes to notice, but when they do it’s just as we would expect. Disbelief! Outrage! Despair! But then a note appears, telling the girls that each one of them has a talent and a gift. They all must find theirs to learn what happened to Mommy and Daddy.

Okay, so that’s how it begin. How does it end? Enter the world of Sisters Eight to find out…

How could any age reader resist that invitation? Yet there is more on the Sisters 8 Books page:

The Sisters 8 Series

It’s a good old-fashioned mystery with missing (or dead) parents, nosy neighbors, talking refrigerators, foul-smelling fruitcake (is there any other kind?), and even a little magic. Eight little girls, eight cats, and one big mystery—let the fun begin! Read the Series Prologue.

Judging by the enthusiastic Reviews only a young reader could write, this family of authors has a hit on their hands. It is a collaboration, though, so how does it work? According to Lauren, the process is simple:

“It all goes pretty much as it has since the beginning when we first brainstormed the general idea for a series about octuplets. We all discuss what needs to go into each book plotwise. Then, like Curious George, I sit down and begin to write. We call me The Pen. After each chapter, I read it to my other two cohorts, we discuss what needs to be changed in that chapter and add new ideas for the next chapter. Rinse and repeat until each book is completed. Oh, and after each book is completed, we go out for a celebratory lunch. These inevitably turn into editorial lunches with the other two peppering me with ideas for the next book. I beg them to stop, not wanting my head to explode, but they never listen. So yes, I do all the physical writing, which is why it’s billed as “Lauren Baratz-Logsted with Greg Logsted and Jackie Logsted,” but there’d never be any Sisters 8 without all of us. I could certainly never think up all this craziness on my own and of course the other two are authors in their own right. Greg is the author of one YA novel, Something Happened, and one middle grade novel, Alibi Junior High, while ten-year-old Jackie likes to write plays. Oh, and she’s also working on her own novel. Solo, this time.”

Charming, clever and fun, the Sisters 8 introduces Book 5: Marcia’s Madness with the following synopsis:

Wherein the fifth-born sister, Marcia, the sensible one; Marcia, the reasonable one; Marcia, the one who would never do anything crazy, begins to act in a most unusual way.

Oh my…Marcia, Marcia, Marcia! Read the First Chapter, meet the sisters, and discover why they’re concerned about Marcia.

Are you thinking summer vacation? How perfect to surprise a young reader with the five books of the Sisters 8 series. In fact, that’s exactly what The Divining Wand will do this week. Anyone leaving a comment on this post will be entered into a random drawing with the winner receiving ALL five books! The deadline for this giveaway is Wednesday, May 5, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. EDT with the winner to be announced in Thursday’s post.

Lauren Baratz-Logsted with Greg Logsted and Jackie Logsted have created a delightful family story. It’s age-appropriate intrigue, whimsy and irony encourage and promote reading. Seriously, is there anything better than that? Remember Book 5: Marcia’s Madness is available in bookstores now.

8 thoughts on “Lauren Baratz-Logsted and Marcia’s Madness

  1. This sounds absolutely delightful….and I’m just thinking what wonderful memories their daughter will have when she grows up…..probably to join Mom and Dad as a writer!

  2. This would make such a wonderful gift! Please enter me in the giveaway.
    Colleen T.

  3. Ooooh, yes PLEASE!

    My 8-year-old daughter *loves* the first book, but we haven’t managed to get any more of them yet. She’s dying to read what happens.

    Thanks for the contest!

  4. What a wonderful post and contest to boot! I first read about this series some time ago and have tweeted with the author a time or two on Twitter. She’s very nice to say the least, and so the continued success of this series (and her other works) is just wonderful to see. Definitely count me in on the giveaway!


  5. This series is wonderful and I am so surprised that my local library doesn’t have the whole series in stock…what a shame that so many young readers will miss out on this wonderful series. If I won the set I would be so happy to donate them to my small town local library so Laurens work can be shared. I just LOVED crazy Beautiful!
    Please count me in for your wonderful giveaway 🙂

  6. I didn’t specifically ask but please sign me up for the giveaway.

    We have the first four in the series and liked it so much we bought a set for my children’s school – the school set was stolen over spring break along with nearly 100 other books waiting to go into the library inventory. 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.